“That Guy”

I wish I was “that guy”, you know “that guy”
Yes, I see you swoon and I hear you sigh
It’s torture to watch, it’s tearing me apart
He makes you laugh; he’s so witty and smart
I just want to crawl up in a ball and die

From a distance I admire and espy
Whenever he’s around you fly sky high
Your love echoes in each beat of your heart
I wish I was “that guy”

I can see it in that look in your eye
When he holds your hand, or touches your thigh
You just can’t wait for the loving to start
Yes I’m jealous; I’m an envious old fart
Do you really need to still ask me why
I wish I was “that guy”

T J Therien

Leave a Reply

