My Back is Broke

 

My back is broke, I cannot bend
Chronic pain you can’t comprehend
Just as axe fells the mighty oak
And oxen buckle beneath the yoke
My knees have grown too stiff, my friend

Splintered spine and of marrow rend
Blood and urine in bowel blend
Karma plays the cruelest joke
My back is broke

The plaster is just for pretend
Shattered bone refuses to mend
What good is wheel without spoke?
The paintbrush minus master stroke
My days of scraping are at an end
My back is broke

T J Therien

Leave a Reply

