Would That I Could

(While co-facilitating a creative writing day for the Toronto Writers Collective on Tuesday I wrote this in ten minutes to the prompt of “I would if I could.”)

 

Would that I could heal the sick and feed the poor

I would do this much and so much more

I would write right the world’s wrongs

Create a better place existing beyond verse and songs

And teach Humanity love is at the core

 

We can do so much better, so much more

Than waste our time on senseless war

This is what my heart really longs

Would that I could

 

I would deconstruct the myths and lore

Make poverty and illness a thing of yore

Pass the pipe and fire up the bongs

Pull from the forge of my mind with iron wrought tongs

A world that is worth fighting for

Would that I could

 

 

T J Therien

2 thoughts on “Would That I Could”

Leave a Reply

